When people ask me about one thing I can do easily, I answer SLEEP.

I do not know how I evolved into being like this but I love to have my hours of sleep. I really feel accomplished about this. Since I was a kid, I went to bed early even on New Years’ Eve. I could not stand being awake until very late. Even to this date being awake until late, messes up my next day mornings’.sleeping lady

Today I am sharing my journey to protect my sleep time. This post is inspired by close relatives that cannot get to sleep that easily.

When I was 19 years old I had to take a break from college to be able to work. I was living by myself. Some of my friends thought that I was hanging out until late just because I was living alone. Truth to be told I was really busy working and eventually working and studying. I worked seven days a week. I was a young adult and of course, I went out and stayed out late. But not as everybody imagined. But do you remember what happened when I stayed late…yes, I was all messed up the next morning.

Going “on time” or early to bed have been always part of me. I am glad that my husband thinks the same way. Not always in my life, I have my hours of sleep but it has been for good reasons for its majority. One of the main reasons for less sleep some nights was because of college. I had a fulltime job and almost a fulltime semester at college during the evenings.

Whenever I could I will go to sleep. At some point, there were other projects going on in my life and again this was against my sleep hours. My solution, I napped during the day. When I say that the next day I was messed up, it was real. I use to get like morning sickness and very bad stomach issues.

 

Know that you know that I like to sleep, this is my method to achieve going to bed on time.

I;

  1. Treat bedtime like a routine. I go to bed early even on the weekends.
  2. Do not think of sleep as a waste of time or a minor “task” in my life.
  3. Never had a TV in my room. I do not think I need one now with smartphones.
  4. Enjoy feeling comfortable in bed. I am in love with the bed sheets.
  5. Have two good quality pillows. Sometimes I have used body pillows too.
  6. Established a limit of time that I can spend on my phone when going to sleep.
  7. Avoid watching movies or series at bedtime.
  8. Treat the bedroom as a rest area. Especially the bed.
  9. Occasionally read for about 20 minutes.

The room;

Needs to be efficient, comfortable and relaxing. I enjoy having:

⇒ A nice comforter.

⇒ Bedside lamps, I do not use the room main light.

⇒ Some small decor on my side of the bed that makes me feel myself and smile.

I discovered my methods to feel good in my bedroom over the years. And yes, the method is not perfect and life happens. I can say the most constant thing in my life to be able to sleep is to strive to go to bed early.

Another thing that I practice is planning my day or week. There is a phrase that says that you can never get back lost sleep. Anyway, I try to make up for it when I can. When I was going to college, I tried to sleep more the night before the long day. The other option was having a nap at home or in the car. For safety purposes, the naps in the car were very short and my family knew that I was napping in the car. Also, I only took naps in “controlled environments” like at work or at college. Funny thing is that in college, there was an area of the parking were you can see people in their cars taking naps. I was not the only one trying to get some sleep. Be careful if you decide to try having naps in your car.

As part of the planning, I had to decline or leave early family or friends’ events. It was really sad but I needed to get some rest for the following day. I also worked third shifts. When this happened I was even more committed to getting my sleep. Before having to work this shift, I heard how people got sick or moody because of the lack of sleep. Guess what, it did not happen to me.

sleeping-girl.jpg

To you out there, trying to get some sleep tonight I tell you the following:

– Establish a routine, go to bed around the same time each night.

– Establish a bed routine (warm shower, lotions, candles, darkened room).

– Avoid using the phone for long periods of time.

– Avoid watching movies or series, especially if you love the series.

– Be responsible with your body and stay true to the plan.

– Do not go to sleep hungry, angry or agitated.

– Reduce the brightness in your devices including the TV.

– Do not let the social pressure get into you. Your life, you are in control.

If nothing seems to work out, you should evaluate your life in general. Check your daily routine, how are you feeling about work or school or if there a specific situation that is keeping you from sleep. It could be a good moment to seek professional help or to end unsolved situations.

Declutter your mind and declutter your life.

 Feeling anxious, check out my article: How I Overcame Anxiety

Are you are easy to go to sleep person? If yes, please share your tips.

With good vibes;

Life Postcards

 

Disclaimer: This content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or another qualified health provider with any questions that you may have regarding a medical condition.

Life Postcards is a lifestyle blog focusing on improving life by sharing professional and life experiences. The blog’s main purpose is to frame every day as a postcard. To immortalize happy memories as outstanding sceneries.  If you want to reach out please email mylifepostcards@gmail.com or visit the Facebook Page Life Postcards.

 

 

Leave a comment